PRESIDENT – Please take a look at this CNN analysis about the Democratic Candidates for 2020, with individual links to each of the Candidates’ websites, which includes (in alphabetical order):

  1. Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado
  2. Former Vice President Joe Biden
  3. Michael Bloomberg -former New York City Mayor
  4. Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey PLEASE NOTE: Dropped out of race, but still on ballot
  5. South Bend, Indiana Mayor Pete Buttigieg
  6. Former Housing Secretary Julián Castro – PLEASE NOTE: Dropped out of race, but still on ballot
  7. Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente – He is not included in the CNN Analysis. PLEASE NOTE: while he is a candidate in the Democratic primary, his father has the same name and is running in the Republican primary.
  8. Former Rep. John Delaney of Maryland
  9. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii
  10. Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota
  11. Deval Patrick – former governor of Massachusetts
  12. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont
  13. Tom Steyer, California billionaire investor and activist
  14. Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
  15. Robby Wells – Another Perennial POTUS candidate, ran as POTUS for Constitution Party, 2012; as Independent, 2016, Democrat, 2018 and is running again as a Democrat in 2020.  He is not included in the CNN Analysis.
  16. Spiritual author Marianne Williamson PLEASE NOTE: Dropped out of race, but still on ballot
  17. Entrepreneur Andrew Yang

SENATETexas (in alphabetical order)

  1. Chris Bell – former US Rep and current Houston councilman, ran for governor in 2006 – filed with FEC, should be making formal announcement soon.
  2. Michael Cooper – Pres Beaumont NAACP, ran for Lt. Governor, 2018, defeated by Collier in primary by 4.8%
  3. Amanda Edwards – currently, at-large Houston City Council
  4. Jack Daniel Foster, Jr. – Previous Candidate for Chambers County County Judge, Chambers County, Texas.  Lost with a 20% vote. From Baytown, TX
  5. Annie “Mama” Garcia – Launching a 420-mile protest walk across Texas, Annie has been fighting for progressive causes since well before she could vote.
  6. MJ Hegar– ran for TX31 (lost by only 2.9% to John Carter)
  7. Victor Hugo Harris – Born in the United States and raised in Mexico, I am a product of the issues facing the Hispanic community..
  8. Sema Hernandez (DSA) – also ran for Senate (against Cruz) in 2018, defeated by O’Rourke in primary by 38% (2nd in a field of 3)
  9. D.R. Hunter – Filed with FEC, but no other information available at this time.
  10. Adrian Ocegueda –from El Paso. Former policy advisor to Mayor. Ran for Governor in 2018. Defeated in primary with only 4.4% of vote.
  11. Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez – Workers Defense and JOLT founder, the 37-year old is embracing progressive policy stances like Medicare for All, the Green New Deal, “massive divestment from Immigration and Customs Enforcement.”
  12. Sen. Royce West, (Dallas) – Current SD23 Senator


Congressional District 21 (TX21)

  1. Wendy Davis  – Former, Fort Worth City Councilmember and SD10 Senator (2009-2015). Ran for Texas governor in 2014. Founded non-profit Deeds Not Words, to give women the tools to make real progress, engaging young women in politics.
  2. Jennie Lou Leeder – Former Chair, Llano County Dem Party and SD24 Representative to the TDEC.  Ran in TX11 in 2018– west of Dallas, Midland, San Angelo – won D primary with 81% of vote; defeated in general.

Congressional District 35 (TX35)

  1. Lloyd Doggett – incumbent and long-time champion of democrats and progressive values.
  2. Rafael Alcoser III – Small business owner, native San Antonian


Railroad Commissioner (in alphabetical order)

  1. Roberto Alonzo – Retired State Representative (HD104) now running for RR commissioner.
  2. Chrysta Casteneda   Chrysta is an engineer, a lawyer, a community leader, and a mom. She is the founding partner of her law firm in Dallas, Texas where she focuses on oil and gas litigation in the upstream sector, as well as commercial litigation and products liability disputes involving technical evidence.
  3. Kelly Stone  – She’s a woman who wears lots of hats. Kelly says, “We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.” Kelly wants to bring education and resistance to the lack of transparency in the state’s oil, gas, and pipeline regulating body.
  4. Mark Watson – Dallas trial attorney and former Public Defender.

Judiciary – NOTE:  While some of the candidates have separate websites (see hyperlinks below), here’s a great website of Profiles and Comparisons for all 2020 Judicial Candidates

  1. Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas  – Amy Clark Meachum; Gerald “Jerry” Zimmerer
  2. Supreme Court Justice of Texas, Pl 6 (unexpired term) — Kathy Cheng; Lawrence Praeger
  3. Supreme Court Justice of Texas Pl 7 –Brandy Voss ; Staci Williams
  4. Justice, Supreme Court of Texas Pl 8 – Peter Kelly;Gisela Triana
  5. Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Pl 3  – Dan WoodElizabeth Frizzell – this is her website for DA, CCAP3 is not live yet; William Demond
  6. Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Pl 4 –  Tina Clinton; Steve Miears
  7. Justice, Criminal Appeals Court, Pl 6 (unexpired term) — Michael Snipes
  8. Justice, Court of Criminal Appeals Pl 9 – Brandon Birmingham, current, Judge, 292nd Judicial District Court in Dallas.

State Board of Education, Place 5

  1. Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Rebecca Bell-Metereau is an educator and dedicated community activist.
  2. Letti Bresnehan – Former NEISD Board Director looking to ensure every student across our state has access to world-class public education

House District (HD73)

Stephanie Phillips  is a teacher, an innovative small business owner, a professional musician – and a Comal County Democrat who ran for HD73 in 2018!   We’re very excited that Stephanie Phillips is on the 2020 ballot.

Chief Justice, Third Court of Appeals (includes Bastrop, Bell, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Coke, Comal, Concho, Fayette, Hays, Irion, Lampasas, Lee, Llano, McCulloch, Milam, Mills, Runnels. San Saba, Schleicher, Sterling, Tom Green, Travis, Williamson)

  1. Judge Darlene Byrne – current, presiding  judge of the 126th Judicial District Court in Travis County (since 2001)
  2. Keith Hampton – Austin Attorney, Hampton is a nationally recognized and highly decorated lawyer who has spent his entire career immersed in constitutional law.

County Commissioner, Precinct 1

Lindsay Poisel – Lindsay has a criminal justice background, has worked with an environmental consulting firm, where she oversaw environmental impact reports for private sector clients, as well as for the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Currently, Lindsay works as an award-winning executive recruiter for leading national litigation and economic firms.

County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Colette Nies – Colette is a Landman, and owner of Colette Von Hanna Energy, LLC.  She is a professional land and energy researcher who has focused on land and food justice for over 20 years. She is also a Presbyterian Chaplain who has counseled countless citizens in Comal and Bexar County. Please take a look at Colette’s video announcing her candidacy.